The Difference between “I’m” and “Am”

cup-3128091_960_720
It became important to write a short article about this because it has become a common mistake made by many people in speaking and writing.
 
 
Some singers have made this same mistake in their songs but, it is still wrong and should be corrected.
 
As candidates preparing for a professional exam like the IELTS, this mistake should not be carried into the hall or allowed to continue even after the tests.
Do not make these mistakes in IELTS writing, reading or speaking tests.
Now, back to the main issue of this post:

What is the difference between these two words- AM and I’M? 
1. “I’m” is the contraction of “I Am” While “Am” is a primary auxiliary verb ‘to be’ like:  is, was, are, am, were, be, being, and been.
Eg.  “I am” is contracted to “I’m”  by removing the “A” and, it also affects or reflects in the pronunciation of such words
These auxiliary verbs could be used as helping verbs e.g. I am dancing, He is laughing.
They can also be used in linking verbs. Example,  “I am a singer”
2. “AM”  is an auxiliary verb which helps the main verb.  For instance, “I am reading”
“Reading” is the main verb and is helped by the auxiliary “am”, which makes the whole sentence to have a meaning.
 
3. “Is”  can only be used at the beginning of a sentence, if it begins a question. Example,
 
 
“Is there any other book here?”
 
Hence, it is wrong to say the following :
 
 
“Is a goal”.  Say, “It is /It’s a goal”
 
 
“Is not true”.  Say, “It is not/it’s not true”
 
 
“Is a lie”.  Say “It is a lie/It’s a lie”
 
 
“Is like you don’t understand what am saying “
 
 
Say,” It is like /It’s like you don’t understanding what I AM/I’M saying “
 
 
” Is not what you think “. Say” It is niy/It’s not what you think “
 
 
CONTRACTIONS 
 
Contractions or “Short forms”  are  simply words that have been shortened or “contracted” by removing certain letters from it.
 
Common  examples of contractions in English language :
 
 
‘m = am (I’m)
 
 
‘re = are ( You’re, we’re, they’re)
 
 
‘s  = is and has ( he’s (he is/he has), she’s, it’s)
 
 
‘ve = have ( you’ve, we’ve, they’ve)
 
 
‘ll  = Will ( He’ll, they’ll, we’ll, you’ll, he’ll, she’ll)
 
 
‘d  =  had and would ( I’d, you’d, he’d, she’d, they’d, we’d)
 
 
 
 
Contractions with auxiliary verb and NOT. Contraction for NOT Is n’t
 
 
Aren’t  = are not
 
 
Can’t   = cannot
 
 
Couldn’t = Could not
 
 
Didn’t  =  Did not
 
 
Hasn’t = has not
 
 
Wouldn’t = would not
 
 
Won’t     = will not
 
 
Shouldn’t = Should not
 
 
 
Shan’t  = Shall not
 
 
Isn’t  = is not
 
 
 
Mustn’t = must not
 
 
With these explanations and examples, I hope you have cleared your confusion about these mistakes and would be able to write them correctly any time in the exams.
 
 
 
If you have any questions, please use the comment section below
 
 

WHAT NEXT NOW?

1. Do you want to be added to our FREE Online study group? CLICK HERE

2. You can join our FACEBOOK Group to connect with other candidates and keep up with our updates.

3. You can also join our next 5 DAYS IELTS READING COURSE to discover how to answer every type of Reading questions. To join CLICK HERE

4. We can help you assess your IELTS Essays, correct you and give you feedback on how you are doing. CLICK HERE

5. To join the next 9 Days Task 2 Essay Writing Course, CLICK HERE

6. Want to talk to me directly CLICK HERE

If this post helped you, it can also help another person. Why not share it?
 

2 thoughts on “The Difference between “I’m” and “Am”

  1. Olufunmilayo Orenusi

    Thank so much for this explanation you have opens my eyes to certain thing which I think is Right but they are wrong
    I really appreciate this.

    Like

Leave a comment